The Big Open Single Seater Series was founded in 1995 according to the regulations of the RAC (Royal Automobile Club Motor Sports Association). Initially, the series raced with “used” Formula 1 cars in Great Britain, and later on other race tracks in continental Europe. This expansion of the racing series and the commitment of Paul Stoddart (European Aviation), the aviation entrepreneur and later Minardi team boss, led to the name change to European BOSS (also abbreviated to EuroBOSS).

One of the most frequent participants after the turn of the millennium were Formula 1 bolides from Benetton, Jordan, Tyrrell, Minardi and occasionally a V12 Ferrari. Over the years, monopostos of the fastest US formula series CART, ChampCar and IndyCar have been seen racing as well.

After the season of 2009, the drivers Marijn van Kalmthout, Klaas Zwart, Henk de Boer and Frits van Eerd decided to split up and organize their own race series. This resulted in both EuroBOSS and BOSS GP in 2010. In the EuroBOSS racing series, however, the starting field was reduced so much that the series was discontinued. BOSS GP, on the other hand, flourished because many drivers made the switch to the new series. Here, in addition to some unique Formula 1 cars, most of the cars were made up of newer monopostos from the up-and-coming GP2 and Renault World Series formula series.

A highlight for drivers and teams was when the BOSS GP series appeared as a support series to Formula 1 at the German Grand Prix in Hockenheim in 2018. The BOSS GP Racing Series was also regularly presented to a larger audience at guest starts in the German Touring Car Masters (DTM).

Today, the BOSS GP Racing Series is characterized by an incomparable variety of the fastest formula cars in the world. Driving takes place on current Formula 1 and MotoGP tracks with the highest safety standards.